2023 Scholarship Winners

2023 Scholarship Winners

The HBCU Alum Scholarship Committee is extremely proud to announce its 2023 Book Scholarship Winners. There were a record 408 applicants, which made this year's selection of semi-finalists and winners the most difficult to date. There were so many deserving candidates, but six highly qualified and impressive young scholars / leaders have been selected by the committee as recipients: 

  • Amaya Waymon from Tallahassee, FL, headed to Tuskegee University
  • Bryman Williams from Madison, MS, headed to Southern University
  • Kassidy Daniels from Greenville, NC, headed to Howard University
  • Madison Corzine from Fort Worth, TX, headed to Spelman College
  • Trenton Dozier from Winston-Salem, NC, headed to Winston-Salem State University
  • Willayja Williams from Miramar, FL, headed to Tennessee State University

All candidate applications were evaluated on scholastic achievement, school / community involvement, leadership and performance on a written essay based on the following topic: “The Importance of Historically Black Colleges and Universities in the 21st Century.”

Terrence Caldwell and Alex Shuler established their initial HBCU Book Scholarship back in 2009 to target HBCU-Bound students in their hometown of Orangeburg, SC. HBCU Alum has furthered that mission, as its goal is to help encourage talented high school students to consider HBCU’s as a viable choice for higher education. The HBCU Alum Scholarship Committee congratulates these talented students and wishes everyone that wrote essays and applied the best of luck in their respective HBCU journeys.

Back to blog